Top 10 Books to Read in 2016

I’m planning to read quite a few books this year and participate in several reading challenges, but the following books are the ones I absolutely CAN’T WAIT to read.

  1. 61Kn6y2nA6L._AA160_
    The Obelisk Gate by N.K. Jemisin
    The sequel to the amazing The Fifth Season! Unfortunately The Obelisk Gate won’t be released until August. Booo.
  2. 41P+vMfIsrL._AA160_
    A Traveler’s Gulide to Belonging by Rachel Ford

    The combination of a new dad losing his wife and traveling around India with his baby makes this book sound very compelling to me.
  3. 61dvr-Ac46L._AA160_.jpg
    The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

    Oh, I love the idea for this book! Imagine traveling to another country to meet your penpal, only to discover she has just died, and then staying to open up a bookstore! I also love the title and cover.
  4. 41NI6s9NEGL._AA160_.jpg
    Wolf Winter by Cecilia Ekback

    As far as intriguing book covers and titles go, this one has really won me over. Plus, it takes place in Scandinavia 300 years ago and has a distinctly creepy vibe, so I’m definitely all in.
  5. 41eUhJG7m5L._AA160_
    Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor

    I’m excited to read several of Okorafor’s books this year, but the title and setting of this book in a futuristic and violent Africa has me particularly intrigued. Plus, there’s magic.
  6. 51r-TibaP1L._AA160_
    The Expatriates by Janice Y. K. Lee

    I just have a good feeling about this book. The setting (Hong Kong, early 20th century), the themes (motherhood, marriage, race, friendship), and the favorable reviews all have me very excited about this book. AND it will be released tomorrow!
  7. 51pZ2maM3PL._AA160_.jpg
    Wherever There is Light by Peter Golden

    Amazon describes this as “a sweeping, panoramic tale of twentieth-century America, chronicling the decades-long love affair between a Jewish immigrant and the granddaughter of a slave.” That kind of moving plot, the gorgeous cover, the focus on art/art history, the recurring themes of oppression and freedom- yeah, I can’t wait for this one.
  8. 416Zq07EtoL._AA160_
    1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
     
    One of many books I have already read but plan to reread this year, this is the one I’m most excited about. Murakami is my all-time favorite author. Sure, some of his early stuff is really not very good, but Norwegian Wood, The Windup Bird Chronicle, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage…this guy can really write. 1Q84 is unusual for me, because unlike most of Murakami’s other books, I’ve only read it once. Probably because it is so long! But it is a really lovely story of love, parallel worlds, and (as always with Murakami) the darker underside of the world in which we live.
  9. 51l1ADoTZzL._AA160_
    A Constellation fo Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra
     
    Ok, I admit that I was won over immediately by the title and cover of this book. I’m a serious judger of books by their covers, I confess! But just look at it- it’s beautiful. Plus, it is a story of love and war in Chechnya, so it will likely be incredibly moving.
  10. 51MfO0a70ZL._AA160_
    All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
     
    I’m pretty sure I’m the last person left who still hasn’t read this book. I’m not sure why I haven’t read it yet, but it sounds beautiful and has (obviously) been very well received.
2 thoughts on “Top 10 Books to Read in 2016

Leave a Reply

