Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

DSCN0354I really expected to love this book, because the concept is so cool: several Londons, with varying degrees of magic, and a mysterious traveler between the worlds. But, I think the book was only average in the end. The character development was shallow and not very believable. I found myself questioning whether any of the main characters would actually do certain things, and I realized about halfway through that I didn’t really care what happened. I mean, the worlds were interesting, and the prose itself was pretty good, but without interesting believable characters, the plot obviously suffers. It started to feel a bit contrived, which I’m guessing is because the best plots spring directly from interesting characters in interesting situations.

I really think V.E. Schwab could write something amazing. She’s clearly got good ideas and can write well- all that’s lacking are some complicated, interesting, believable, and likable characters.

If I were doing a star rating I’d go with 3 out of 5. It is a pretty good book, but certainly not great.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

